Favorite Links

Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators: http://www.scbwi.org

The Illinois Reading Council: http://www.illinoisreadingcouncil.org

Hook Kids on Reading (Margot Finke): http://hookkidsonreading.blogspot.com/

Children’s Book Insider: http://www.write4kids.com/

A World of Publishing: http://www.sharingwithwriters.blogspot.com

Smart Writers.com (for people who are serious about writing for kids): http://www.smartwriters.com

Samantha Bell, Writer/Illustrator/Fine Artist: http://www.samantha-bell.com

Jennifer Ward (author of wildly funny books for children and parents): http://www.jenniferwardbooks.com

Great Conservation Links for Kids

Ocean Conservancy (check out their International Coastal Cleanup Program): http://www.oceanconservancy.org

Clearwater Marine Aquarium (be sure to watch the film about Winter, the amazing little dolphin!): http://seewinter.com

Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary (they helped to clean many oil-soaked birds from the Gulf of Mexico oil spill): http://www.seabirdsanctuary.com

Sea Turtle Conservancy: http://www.conserveturtles.org

The Turtle Nest: http://www.kiawahturtles.com

How to Clean a Pelican: http://www.buzzfeed.com/scott/how-to-clean-a-pelican/

Student Planet Savers: http://studentplanetsavers.globalteacher.org.au/tips/

Marie and her Friend the Sea Turtle: http://marieandherfriendtheseaturtle.blogspot.com/

For Teachers

Green Teacher (education for Planet Earth): http://www.greenteacher.com

Planet Pals (good information on helping save our planet): http://www.planetpals.com/planet.html

Scholastic-Ocean Life (great teacher resource on the oceans): http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/explorer/oceanlife/main.asp?template=meet_explorer&article=interview_reina

Teaching Tips.com (let’s keep our classrooms eco-friendly!): http://www.teachingtips.com/blog/2008/06/23/50-ways-to-go-green-in-the-classroom/

Environmental Protection Agency (a wonderful site for any aspect of greening our earth): http://www.epa.gov/earthday/